Eat Real

Yesterday was fantastic!

I woke up around 6:30 and went for a 45 minute walk with Kodi, then had some delicious oatmeal for breakfast.

1/4 c gluten free oats

1/4 c water, almond milk

strawbs and blackberries,

barney butter

crofters spread

pinch of salt.

Now that I’ve quit my job, it’s so odd to have a HOT breakfast.

Then I biked to the gym for yoga and 20 minutes of TKB (turbo kickboxing). I left early because my feet have been seriously sore from lack of cushion in my running shoes and van sneakers. So I took off on my bike all the way across to another town to drop off my car insurance check and then made my way home. It was a rough ride because the wind was so strong and cold! Seriously, where has summer been in California?

Then later in the afternoon after going to a friends BBQ, boyfriend made it over this way and we took off to oakland for Eat Real Festival. The whole goal is to make healthy real food fast and accessible at a low price. I think they succeeded. There were so many good REAL food trucks out there and every plate was 5 dollars or under. Needless to say, boyfriend and I did some SERIOUS DAMAGE.


I felt like a kid in a candy store and a gnat at the same time. There were so many places I wanted to go, so many tastes I wanted to taste. I was immediately overwhelmed and couldn’t choose what I wanted first. I have a problem with making decisions, and this was definitely one of those times. Thankfully the boyf. assisted me in route and food planning. As we wandered in deeper amongst the almost 100 vendors we started off with Curry Up Now . They sell Indian masala burritos and tikka masala plus samosas. So we decided to split one samosa. By the way, everything we got yesterday we got just one and split 🙂

The samosa wasn’t up to our standards. I like to think we’re pretty experienced or at least somewhat knowledgeable of Indian food and spices and this was missing something. Even the boyfriend who doesn’t care much for spicy food said it was missing that kick of a spice.

Then we saw that Organic Valley was giving out free samples! You know I’m all about free, and I love cheese, so we both got a square of the organic sharp cheddar. It was really tasty, boyfriend even liked it plain and he really doesn’t like cheese on it’s own.

Love the message of this loaf of bread we passed!

Then there was another truck called Liba that I wanted to try. My first time trying Falafel, it was ok. I’m sure they’re better homemade or from somewhere else. But the yogurt and cilantro sauce was delicious! I had a list of the places I wanted to go and the foods I wanted to try (hey, I did some research) and this place serves sweet potato fries. I wanted to get some for the man, but they didn’t have them.

I didn’t care much for the differentiation between the outside and the inside. I wish it was all insides.

Then we split a tiny goats milk ice cream sammich from LaLoos. I’ve always wanted to try goats milk, so why not start with ice cream. I liked it. Boyf. thought the chocolate sammie part overpowered the ice cream.

Not full, YET.

More sammich!

Then we went to a place that I TOTALLY wanted to go. Homeroom. They do MAC N CHEESE. Seriously this stuff was good. It was so cheesy , creamy and even spicy! Plus I topped it with some crushed potato chips.

It was their Smoky Spicy Mac with Spring Hill spicy jack and marash pepper.

Thanks Homeroom! Totally satisfied my craving of something comforting, cheesy, warm, and amazing.

Next up, my first time having papusa! Bean and cheese of course with fermented cabbage and onion (so good, reminded my of kimchee) and salsa. Boyfriend loves these. So much so that we bought another bean and cheese and plain queso on our way out for another day.

Then I saw this on my way in, and there was a big line. I was like we have to come back!

Chicken and Seafood Paella or Vegan Paella. We opted for the vegan (thanks boyfriend!)

I think it was one of our favorite dishes of the day. It tasted like it had meat in it, but it was garbanzo beans. Plus all the other yummy stuff that goes in the other Paella.

We ate the WHOLE thing.

Boyfriend and I want chickens SO BAD!

We really wanted to get a spinach kanish, but we decided against it. Probably good in the long run, but they looked and smelled so good.

Then the last bit of food we got was an empanda at a place I wanted to try. We decided to try chicken despite all my efforts in not eating meat, sometimes it’s nice to have a treat. The taste was so interesting, I couldn’t put my finger on it. There were olives in it too and I hate olives! But I didn’t even notice or taste them. We each had a bite or two and saved the rest to take home. Mom tasted when we got home too 🙂

Then it was off to where we started. Gelataria Naia. I taste tested this place in my last post in Walnut Creek and they were here! We saw them on our way in and I vowed we had to go back because they had Blue Bottle Coffee flavored ice cream. Blue Bottle is apparently the best coffee around, but I have yet to try it so I had to have some form of it when I saw it. We got that and then the other half whiskey flavored.

We agreed this was the best thing we ate yesterday. The coffee ice cream was made with real coffee not that coffee flavor crap. Which makes me want to get a cup of Blue Bottle Coffee even more now!

Nomz.

Then we came home stuffed and lazy.

And this morning I went on a 7 mile run and am still not hungry! Gah!

Leave a Reply

