Blackberry Madness!

To start off I would like to say I am priviledged at being allowed to post something on this blog =). This is the bf whom is mentioned in the blog (both good and bad). This summer the gf and I have been going blackberry picking at the local Ardenwood Farm and she found some awesome recipes to bake (aside from her own awesome uses). There were two recipes she found both involving baking a blackberry pie/cake. Hers was delicious!

I had the honor of trying to bake the more complicated one. The ingredients are as follows:

  • 1 & 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar, divided use
  • 1/2 cup butter, cut into chunks
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla, divided
  • 3 cups blackberries
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 2 egg yolks

I first read this and thought, “What? sour cream?…” I wasn’t too sure about this and I had not even purchased the ingredients yet. I got past that and started baking. It is a very straight forward recipe, nothing very complicated other than making sure to get everything mixed very well. First the you combine the 1/2 cup suagr, flour, butter, baking powder, 1 whole egg, and a tsp of vanilla. Once that was mixed I realized it formed a dough,  a pie dough to be more precise. I had the similar texture to cheesecake crust…Hmmm, i started thinking of the last ingredients to mix.

You then sprinkle an even layer of 3 cups of balckberries. Now that’s a lota berries! I used almost my whole tub! but it looked really good like that haha. I mixed the rest of the ingredients:sour cream, egg yolks (you know its going to be fluffy with egg yolks =D), half cup sugar, and tsp vanilla. Then spread over the blackberries and baked it for an hour. Well little did I think to place a tray underneath the springform pan ( one where the sidewall detaches) because the berry juice totally burnt on the oven! Once it was cooled and ready to be removed from the pan it looked awesome!

The crust looked even better.

 and the innards.

It tasted very similar to a blackberry flavored cheesecake! And who would have thought that sour cream would taste so good. Hope this is to the liking of those who enjoy baking and or blackberries! Love you babe.

Leave a Reply

