Funky Friday

Friday did not start off great. I woke up on time (the first time this week) but my stomach immediately felt off. I was uncomfortable and felt sick all morning. My goal was to try not to throw up at work. I took off at lunch and decided maybe a real slow light run might settle my stomach. Do you ever do that? Before I started running he would complain about his tummy being upset and feeling sick and then he would go for a run. I thought he was absolutely insane, especially when he would tell me he felt better afterward. So I went for a run after I left work around a nice neighborhood lake and ran around 4x! Bringing my total to 5 miles! It wasn’t my best pace, but I felt so much better afterwards! Crazy right? He joined me on my last lap and then we walked a lap, where he spotted the best duck out of the whole lake.

Einstein duck!

Then spotted a mommy an her baby ducks.

Then he and I went blackberry picking! We picked SO many blackberries. I picked a whole hummus container full and boyfriend has a whole cool whip container full. I love spending time with him doing things like that 🙂

Then I came home and rested because I started feeling poopy again, but then peeled myself off my floor to bake with my newly picked fresh blackberries.

My mom saved a recipe out of our newspaper that included blackberries and is super simple. I didn’t take any photos of the process, only the outcome 🙂

Blackberry cake!

sprinkled with powdered sugar

crusts!

And now for the inside 🙂 Mm look at those melty berries and how they just ooooze sweetness.

I just HAD to try some.

I cut up a few slices to take to dinner with friends, having a few more bites along the way 😉 because it was so tasty! Not too sweet, just right.

Here’s the recipe:

Blackberry Cake

½ cup butter, cut into chunks

1 cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 large eggs

1 cup fresh blackberries

1 teaspoon powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour a 9-inch cake pan with removable rim.

2. Using an electric mixer, blend 1 cup sugar and butter, then beat on high speed until well-mixed, about three minutes.

3. Add flour, baking powder and eggs. Stir to combine, then beat on high speed until well-blended, about two minutes. Batter will be stiff.

4. Scrape batter into pan and smooth top. Scatter berries evenly over batter and sprinkle with remaining tablespoon of sugar. Bake until cake just begins to pull away from the rim, about 55 to 60 minutes.

5. Run a thin-bladed knife between cake and pan rim. Let cool at least 10 minutes. Remove pan rim and dust cake with powdered sugar. Cut into wedges.

One of my best friends was in town so a bunch of us all went out to our traditional sushi place and then to a movie. Everytime she comes to visit we go to this sushi place, it’s like tradition. And I ALWAYS make sure we take a polaroid 🙂 These people are some of my closest and most valued friends.

Everybody look in a different direction!

BF and I split a california roll (so it wouldn’t be too harsh on my tummy) and salad and each had miso soup. Then split a piece of blackberry cake! This was our friends Lemon drop roll, which reminded us of another roll we eat at our other sushi place.

Obviously we all murdered everything.

Then we all went to see Despicable Me. Not knowing what to expect we all really enjoyed it. There were definitely some really funny moments and a pretty good story. Then we all said our goodbyes. It was a perfect evening of good conversation, joking, and amazing friends. On the way home though I was exhausted and couldn’t wait to get to bed. But boyfriend and I realized we need to see an adult movie sometime soon. The last movies we can remember seeing are all kids movies- how to train your dragon, toy story and now this!

One thought on “Funky Friday

Leave a Reply

